What If Wednesday – Feeding Your Spirit

Life always looks and feels better when you do things you love. There’s no getting around life’s unpleasant tasks, but how much does your life improve if you spend 15 minutes a day doing something you love? 30 minutes? An hour?
I went through this exercise with quilting a few years ago. You might remember it if you’ve been reading a while. I went from a couple hours of quilting a week to 12 hours. It didn’t happen every week, nor did it happen overnight, but I got there. Given my work schedule and my family commitments, it was an accomplishment.
More recently I’ve repeated the drill with yoga. I started with 10 minutes a few times a week and increased to 15 to 25 minutes six days a week. I can see myself doing 45 minutes a day when I can fit it in. Again, this was a gradual shift.
So am I happier, healthier, more energized or sporting a more positive outlook?
That’s a tough one. Gradual change breeds gradual change. It’s like watching your kids grow. You don’t notice it on a day-to-day basis, and then one day you realize they’re a foot taller.
I think the short answer is yes, I see improvement. I’d find it hard to quantify, but believing it makes it real for me. On some level I feel different, in a good way.
So what if I repeat the exercise with quilting? Will it get me back in the sewing room?
The idea has been floating around my head a few weeks. Lots of other priorities right now. Not giving up the yoga. I would need to rework what I’m doing and how I’m doing it. Something else might have to give.
It will look different this time around. I’m more interested in quality than quantity. What if….?

This entry was posted in creativity, Personal Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

