Stash Report And Show Purchases

We got back from AQS Grand Rapids yesterday. The lack of a crowd or buses surprised me. It’s nice for the attendees, but can’t be good for the show. They already announced the dates for next year, but I have to wonder if they will move to another city after that.
The only trend I noticed was the dense quilting on almost every quilt. I also saw a few quilts with the white spaces quilted in colored thread that extended the pieced/appliquéd design. Although I like over-the-top quilting, I think it has its place. Just because something can be done doesn’t means it should be done.
I managed to behave myself while shopping, even though there were many good fabric deals. I find it hard to buy fabric if I don’t have a project in mind unless I really love it. I limited myself to a half yard of a black solid. I depleted my stash and seem to need it all the time, and it cost less than what the shops charge here.

AQS-purchasesI picked up the thread and lotion as planned, and also picked up a book at the $5 booth and some paints at ProChem. I had to guess at what colors I needed. The brown was a right choice and the red not so much, but that’s fine. I know I’ll use it eventually.
No fabric used this week.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 8.2 yards
Fabric Out: 18.15 yards
Net Fabric Used: 9.95 yards

This entry was posted in books, quiltshows, stashbusting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stash Report And Show Purchases

  1. Gayle says:

    I just think there are way too many larger quilt shows too close together these days. Cuts down on vendor participation which then cuts down on show attendees. They also have not had any classes there in the last two shows that interested me enough to spend time and money. I do like going but just couldn’t lately. Hopefully next year. I think they set the venue for a certain number of years and it will end in 2017. It is a great place for the show though.

  2. Sandi says:

    I’m with you on purchases with nothing in the plan for it. Sometimes I can do it, but certainly and fortunately not a lot of yardage. An occasional sale will have me purchasing yardage for a back, but that too has to be a pretty good sale 🙂

  3. Dar in MO says:

    I totally agree with your assessment on the quilting front. Sometimes less is more. Good for you to stick to only buying what you need. I’m in that frame of mind these days too. Sorry to hear there were not too many at the show. Too many shows too close together is definitely a good reason, plus it’s almost back to school time for a lot of folks.

Leave a Reply

