Stash Report And Tension Problems

No fabric in or out this week. I’m quilting the borders on the Craftsy class quilt and expect to report that out next week.
I’m having intermittent tension problems with my machine that make no sense. It sews fine for a good stretch, and then I get loops on the back for an inch, and then it sews fine, then loops. The bad tension runs are so small and far between that it seems like a waste to rip them out. All I can figure is that I don’t run my machines enough and the sewing room has too much heat/cold/humidity/whatever and the machine doesn’t like it. Annoying.
I’m also debating whether or not to add more quilting in the blocks. I planned to echo quilt around the appliques, but I didn’t want the quilting to compete with all the color and pattern. I would like the background flatter so the appliqués stand out more. I may have to try quilting a block to see how it looks with the understanding I may have to rip it out.

quilted-bird-blockThe quilting shows in real life more so than in the picture.  I’m sure it will all work out in the end.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 8.2 yards
Fabric Out: 18.15 yards
Net Fabric Used: 9.95 yards

This entry was posted in quilting, sewing machine, stashbusting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stash Report And Tension Problems

  1. Very cute applique.

    Have you tried changing out the bobbin? I have problem sometimes with how my bobbins are wound. I’ll have problems for a few stitches, it will clear up and then come back. This usually happens as I reach the end of a bobbin.

  2. Libby Smith says:

    If changing bobbin doesn’t work, try changing your needle. I’m always amazed at the difference that can make. Good luck!

  3. Valerie says:

    You’ve been doing well on your stash. I’m sorry i can’t help with your tension problems. I think sometimes the machine doesn’t like certain fabrics. I know my stitch regulator doesn’t like some batiks, which is a problem for me!

  4. Gayle says:

    I like to use Bottom Line 70 weight thread to quilt backgrounds. You get tge definition, texture and “pop out” of the applique without the distraction of the thread.

  5. Good luck figuring out the tension issues. Mine have usually been solved by changing the thread combo or adjusting the bobbin tension. Hope you can resolve it and enjoy the rest of your quilting.

Leave a Reply

