What If Wednesday – Momentum

Last week we left off with the concept of a daily task list as an organization tool to free up more time to do the things you love. The goal here is to build a life full of joy, energy, health and creativity.
The daily task list has worked better than anticipated. I’m amazed at how much I’ve accomplished in the past week and a half, way beyond my expectations. I’ve made more progress at work and on one particular home goal than I have with the sewing, but at least I am sewing. I figure different areas will take the leading role at different times. Unless I abandon a focus area, it should all even out.
I’m also surprised at how forward movement created a lot of momentum. Once things started moving, they took on a life of their own.
Momentum is a funny thing though. You can ride the wave for a while, but eventually you either hit the beach or need a break. When things happen fast, you need time to absorb, adjust and regroup. As much as I would love to run at the top of my game 24/7, rest is required. A little down time goes a long way.
So where do we go from here?
Since it’s so close to month-end, I’ll align The Short List and the daily task list as part of the creation of the September Short List. I plan to stick with what I’m doing at work because it’s going well. I’m in the regroup phase at home, gearing up for the next wave of that project.
I finished quilting the Craftsy class quilt and made the binding and the sleeve. I’m heading out of town Friday and want to have the binding attached so I can hand stitch in the hotel Friday night.
What if all that momentum continues? How much change can a person absorb? How fast?
Ten different people would answer those questions ten different ways. The question for each of us is how fast can we (as individuals) adapt to change? And it all comes down to how bad you want it.
I watched a friend bury her husband last weekend. He died way too young and it got me thinking that we never know what life will bring. It reminded me to keep the most important things the most important things.
That life I have pictured in my mind. I want it bad.

This entry was posted in ideas, Personal Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What If Wednesday – Momentum

  1. Linda says:

    You have great writing skills. Inspirational, my friend.

Leave a Reply

