September Short List

I didn’t finish anything last month but made progress on a couple things.
As mentioned in prior posts, I’m changing up the list to include projects that fit in with both my daily and long-term goals.
For new readers, the Short List is something old (UFO), something new, something painted and a handwork project.
Something Old: The still life from the Esterita Austin class. Still quilting this one. All those thread changes take time.

pottery-in-progressSomething new: I chose a sketch out of my idea notebook to make into a quilt. For lack of a better name, I refer to it as “the church quilt”. Long story, but the design has nothing to do with church or anything you’d find in a church. It’s just one of those weird things that makes sense to me.
Something else new: A co-worker gave me four large bags of fabric to donate to my guild and I decided to make a quilt for his wife out of the fabric. Her mother passed away earlier this year and was a life-long sewer.

vintage-fabric
Painting/Dyeing: Layering color. I was inspired by the paintings of Gerhard Richter. I’m on the fence with this one and holding.

paint-stik-on-paintHandwork: The Craftsy class quilt. An hour or so of hand stitching will finish this one.

applique-quilt-borderedMore handwork: The Art Quilt Group challenge this month is to use a piece of woven ribbon floss in a project. I don’t remember the name of the product, but YLI makes it. I decided on a project that includes some embroidery.

woven-ribbon-flossIf I need more handwork after that, I’ll work on the Dresden plate blocks.
I’m looking for two, maybe three finished this month depending on how things go.

This entry was posted in applique, artquiltgroup, embroidery, fabricpainting, scrapquilts, ufos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

