A Small Finish

I finished the wristlet earlier this week. The pattern is by Lee Monroe and it appeared in the Summer 2014 issue of Stitch magazine.

wristletThe stripes in the inserts were made using the ribbon thread that was this month’s Art Quilt Group challenge.
I like the design of the bag, but I’m sorry I used fusible fleece between the bag and the lining. It gave the bag a lot of substance at the price of a lot of bulk. If I make it again I would use cotton batting or batting with a stiff sew in interfacing, and I would keep the batting out of the seam allowances. I cut away as much of the fleece as I could and still ended up with round corners.
I also like the zipper treatment and the endless possibilities for the inset section. I wanted to use some of the fancy stitches on my machine for the topstitching, but they wouldn’t stitch right on that darn fleece.
The outside of the bag is hand painted fabric and the strap is a hand dye.
It’s the second finish on the Short List this month.
I’m linking to Whoop Whoop Friday.

This entry was posted in challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Small Finish

  1. Mary says:

    Don’t fret over rounded corners! It’s a design element in a different situation….so make it one here. lol Your wristlet is darling. I made a little bag very like this one for my sister a few weeks ago but left off the strap so that she can attach her keys. She was thrilled! I have no doubt someone will be thrilled with this one….it’s so cute.

    Ribbon thread??? I’ll have to look into that!

  2. Pingback: Stash Report And A Book Sale | quiltpaintcreate

  3. Rhonda says:

    Very cute bag! I am going to have to google ribbon thread. That is a new term for me. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

