A Different Kind Of Quilting

I’m making some progress on quilting Still Life. I started with the cup on the left and made my share of mistakes. I spent a lot of time looking at the quilt and auditioning threads. Since this is a first quilting something like this, I can’t get my mind around quilting all one color and moving to the next. I quilt until I need to change colors, change colors and continue.

still-life-quiltingI still spent a lot of time looking at the quilt and choosing thread on the jar in the middle, but had fewer thread changes. I think the quilting looks better if some light stitching flows into darker areas and some darker thread goes into lighter areas.
This top has sat around for a couple years, and I will be glad to have it finished.

This entry was posted in artquilts, quilting, ufos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

