Stash Report And The Sewing Expo

No fabric in or out this week.
I went up to the Sewing Expo in Novi, Michigan, but I only bought a stencil to use with fabric paints.

stencilI’ve wanted to go for years and never did. Sunday is the day of the costume fashion show/contest, and a lot of attendees dress in costumes he/she made even if they aren’t competing. It was a strange experience shopping among anime characters and Pokemon. There aren’t quite words.
Almost all the costumes I saw today were works of art. The Victorian gowns and steam punk outfits had so much detail, including hats and accessories. These were not quick or easy pieces. Those sewers have some serious skills.
This Expo didn’t carry a lot of quilting items, but I did find a shop near Detroit that carries a wide selection of good quality fashion fabric. I’ve been looking for a nearby source of fashion fabric for at least a year, so I was happy to discover it.
Besides the fashion show, I sat through a demo on Tsukineko inks and spent a lot of time in a booth that sold looms. The owner demonstrated all three models for us, plus a drop spindle. I have no interest in spinning, but I want one of those looms. I think I can build it myself if I can find some specs online.
Overall it was a good day full of new experiences.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 32.95 yards
Fabric Out: 19.65 yards
Net Fabric ADDED: 13.3 yards

This entry was posted in quiltshows, stashbusting, stencil and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

