October Short List

I finished two projects last month, the wristlet and the Craftsy quilt, which I renamed Summertime. I also made a lot of progress on the Still Life quilt and cut out the Memory Quilt. A good month overall.
For new readers, the Short List is something old (UFO), something new, something painted and a handwork project.
Something Old: The still life from the Esterita Austin class. I’m ready to start quilting the background.

still-life-quiltingSomething new: I chose a sketch out of my idea notebook to make into a quilt. For lack of a better name, I refer to it as “the church quilt”. Long story, but the design has nothing to do with church or anything you’d find in a church. It’s just one of those weird things that makes sense to me.
Something else new: A co-worker gave me four large bags of fabric to donate to my guild and I decided to make a quilt for his wife out of the fabric. Her mother passed away earlier this year and was a life-long sewer. This one is cut but I haven’t started piecing it. I took three bags of fabric to guild and donated it.

memory-quilt-piecesPainting/Dyeing: Layering color. I was inspired by the paintings of Gerhard Richter. I’m on the fence with this one and holding.

paint-stik-on-paintHandwork: I think I’ll embellish Confetti Breeze. I finished quilting and facing it a couple years ago.

confetti-breeze-quiltedI figure I’ll finish the Still Life and make progress on the Memory Quilt and Confetti Breeze this month.
I’d love to finish a few more UFOs before the end of the year because that list is still too long. The Short List has really helped me to finish what I start. This may be the first year ever I don’t add to the UFO list.

This entry was posted in artquilts, fabricpainting, ufos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

