My Own Big Magic

Last Sunday I went to the Sewing Expo with two other women, and we had time to talk about lots of things on the drive up there and back. They both have longarm machines and I don’t. When the topic got around to how we quilt our quilts, I admitted that I don’t much enjoy free motion quilting. I’ve done it for years and am to the point where I don’t feel embarrassed when people look at my quilting. It doesn’t take your breath away, but it won’t make you cringe either.
I’ve come to terms with what I like and what I don’t and adjust accordingly.
When I got home that night and got online, I had an email from Patsy Thompson. I had won her new DVD, Ruler Work For The Sit Down Quilter, or any other DVD of hers if ruler work wasn’t for me.
I had to laugh. Apparently I am not done with free motion quilting and I need an attitude adjustment. I found the whole thing incredibly funny. Don’t ever think the Universe doesn’t have a sense of humor.
I chose the Fast And Free volume 2 DVD. I’m willing to give free motion quilting another try, but I wasn’t willing to spend money on special rulers and feet for my Pfaff.

fast-and-free-dvdI watched some of the DVD while quilting the Still Life. It has me thinking about trying some of the designs, which sends chills down my back every time…in a good way.
Still Life isn’t finished, so no fabric in or out this week.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 32.95 yards
Fabric Out: 19.65 yards
Net Fabric ADDED: 13.3 yards

This entry was posted in freemotion, quilting, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Own Big Magic

  1. I just got RULER WORK for the SIT DOWN QUILTER and loved it…. my review is posted here >>> https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/2015/10/03/review-ruler-work-for-the-sit-down-quilter-vol-1-dvd-by-patsy-thompson/ >>> I posted it last night… I guess great minds think alike… I am definitely going to try out the method.

  2. Dar in MO says:

    How lucky you are. Patsy Thompson is one who inspired me when I was FM quilting on my Bernina. She makes it look so easy, but I did find that with more practice and breathing, it wasn’t as scary as first thought. Now I have moved up to a long arm too, but truth be told, I’m better at free motion on a domestic than the long arm. I have more control and can SEE my canvas better since it’s closer to my eyes that from high over a huge long arm machine. I use my long arm every day, but for critical and precise quilting, I sometimes revert back to my comfortable, sit down Bernina girl *Nina”. Have fun with your new found prizes. You are right, the Universe has more in store for your FM talents.

  3. Gayle says:

    One of the best free motion quilting classes I have taken was from Patsi. Opened up the way I look at a piece when deciding how to quilt it. And yes the universe is very funny that way!

Leave a Reply

