All About Stitches

I have a new fascination with stitching combined with surface design, which lead me to a few books from the library.
Elegant Stitches by Judith Baker Montano is basically a stitch bible. Nothing new there as I already own a couple. What’s brilliant is the section called Crazy Quilt Combinations that shows over 100 combinations of two or more stitches. It’s something I haven’t seen in other stitch bibles. That section alone is worth checking out.

surface-design-booksThe other book was From Print To Stitch by Janet Edmonds. The book covers several types of surface printing and multiple variations of each type. The author then uses the printed design as a pattern for hand stitching.
I find this book intriguing. The fabric becomes various 3-D objects, such as boxes or bags. The fabric is not used in quilts. I’m a little surprised none of the fabric is incorporated into clothing as a decorative pocket, collar, etc.
I feel like I would need to pick a project first and then create the cloth for it, or the fabric would age in a drawer forever. This technique would be a wonderful choice for a creative play day.
I’ll have to find a small project that would work with this technique and give it a try.

This entry was posted in dyeing, embroidery, fabricpainting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All About Stitches

  1. Denise says:

    You may get hooked on the new stitching techniques! I started dabbling in crazy quilting. I will email you a picture of my first finished block.

  2. Gayle says:

    Sue Spargo has some awesome stitch books out right now. The one I love is called creative stitching. Lots of pictures to show the combinations. Also Laura Wasalowski has some good simple stitching info on her blog “artfabrik”. Tech tips on needkes and threads as well as stabilizers. Sue is coming to the AA guild to teach in 2017!

Leave a Reply

