Stash Report And Making Decisions

No fabric in or out this week. All the fabric for the top I finished came from the recipient.
I spent last night making decisions on the backing, quilting design and thread for the memory quilt. I haven’t worked out the binding yet. I want a good quality fabric for the binding, something with give and not too much bulk. I’ll look through the bag again, but I don’t think anything I have fits the bill. I may end up using my fabric instead. It’s really a substance over form decision, choosing durability over making the top entirely from the deceased’s fabrics.
I also picked a border fabric for my sister’s embroidered piece.  Here it is mocked-up on a bulletin board.

embroidery-mock-upI pulled out all my Christmas fabrics and auditioned at least a dozen. I had quite a few more than that, which is embarrassing because I have no plans to make a Christmas quilt. I just like Christmas fabric. The bad thing about buying that way is most of the fabrics don’t go together. There may be multiple Christmas quilts in my future.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 32.95 yards
Fabric Out: 20.275 yards
Net Fabric ADDED: 12.675 yards

This entry was posted in embroidery, holidays, scrapquilts, stashbusting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stash Report And Making Decisions

  1. Charlene S says:

    Sometimes you just want what you want! Clump your Christmas fabrics together with a couple of neutrals and make a scrappy quilt. Believe it or not, it will be wonderful! Busy but wonderful.

  2. I love your embroidery. The border goes well too!

  3. Kate says:

    The embroidery piece is beautiful and the fabric is perfect for a border.

  4. Gayle says:

    Could you piece the binding for the memory quilt? It fishes with a great effect most of the time. More diagonal seams translates into more give. Not sure about durability though.

  5. Gayle says:

    Oh and the Christmas tree quilt is great!

Leave a Reply

