Learning Curve

I decided to finish the one bell that didn’t fit colorwise with the others and use it as an ornament.

bell-ornamentThat taught me I have a lot to learn about using the decorative stitches on my machine.
Less is definitely more. Too much stitching in one area makes it stiff, which made the bell hang funny.
There is a trick to stitching straight lines. When I figure it out I’ll let you know.
Every stitch requires a tension adjustment.
Always use embroidery needles when doing decorative stitching. The needle shredded the burgundy thread where it went through the eye.
And because the lessons never stopped on this one, I learned the hanging loops on jingle bells are sharp and will slice right through your thread when you sew them onto a project. Next time I will put a jump ring through that loop and sew that to the project instead.
All that from a project less than five inches square.
I’m linking to Whoop Whoop Friday.

This entry was posted in holidays, scrapquilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

