What If Wednesday: Out Of The Zone

I’ve been at this quilting thing a while, and over the years I’ve decided not to do certain kinds of projects.
I do not make ginormous quilts.
I do not make overly busy quits. Love her, but no Bonnie Hunter mystery quilts for me.
I do not make star or flower quilts if possible.
I favor bright bold colors over soft muted tones.
I do not make traditional quilts.
I rarely make patterns. I just don’t have the follow directions gene.
So last night I’m poking around online and find the Quilt Addicts Anonymous 2016 BOM. It’s everything in a project I don’t do.
I immediately signed up.
The quilt has a lot of blocks that require matching points and precise piecing. I tried to remember the last quilt I made with shapes other than squares and rectangles. It was three years ago. I’m thinking my piecing skills have lost their edge.
I looked at that quilt and saw an opportunity to sharpen my skills and walk a different path. It’s good to change things up now and then. It gets the creative ideas flowing.
Of course, my quilt will be smaller. And brighter. And less busy. Some of the pieced blocks will be replaced with fabric squares. I may have to add embroidery or appliqué. Or both. With fewer blocks I may need to change up the setting.
I already admitted I don’t have the follow directions gene.
I like that the block patterns come with links to videos and tips for making the blocks. I can use the reminders and maybe I’ll learn something new.  If you want to join me, you can sign up using the link above.
What if I go way out of my comfort zone and turn something I wouldn’t normally choose into a learning experience?
We’re about to find out.

This entry was posted in bom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What If Wednesday: Out Of The Zone

  1. Gayle says:

    I’ll get right on that. Just after I fish this Moonglow one I’ve been working on for 15 years now!

  2. Paulette says:

    “It’s everything in a project I don’t do. I immediately signed up.” Ha! I love it. Good luck to you. I admire your attitude and self-challenge!

Leave a Reply

