What If Wednesday: Opposing Goals

This time of year I think about my goals for next year, not just creatively but for home and work too. My creative goals change the most because the home and work goals take more time and effort to complete, or so it seems. So what if one of these goals prevents completion of another?
Two of my creative goals are to finish UFOs without adding new ones and using up some of the fabric hoard. The UFOs bother me because I see them all the time. I have multiple clear bins in the sewing room, taunting me. It would be easier if I didn’t like those projects, but I do like them and want to finish them. The fabric bothers me because it’s everywhere, which makes it hard to find anything or remember what I have. “Everywhere” means I have fabric stored in four different rooms in my house. It’s a bit annoying.
One might think these two goals compliment each other. Finishing quilts = using fabric. It doesn’t get much easier than that.
Except half my UFOs are small and complicated. At least a quarter of them contain less than a yard of fabric. That many more have less than two yards.
When I’m making an effort, I can finish four to six UFOs a year. That doesn’t add up to much fabric usage. Realizing that was not a happy thought.
Nor can I pretend I don’t know this.
As a result my approach to how and what I create will change. I sat down with the intention to list my goals for next year and ended up transforming my creative process.
I’m not sure how I feel about this, but I’m open to the possibilities. It will be interesting to see where this takes me.

This entry was posted in creativity, ideas, stashbusting, ufos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

