January Short List And Word Of The Year

Happy New Year!
The new year brings a new Short List. I finished one UFO in December. My total for the year was 15 finishes, of which five were UFOs.
The one addition to the List for 2016 is the current step for the Quilt Addicts Anonymous BOM. The list will continue to include something old (UFO), something new and creative play.
Something Old – I call this one The Circle UFO. I started it in a workshop on curved piecing. I didn’t realize until I pulled it out that I’d added borders and appliqués. I may make it bigger and donate it, or I might not.

circle-UFOSomething New – The rectangular four patch. I’m ready to add the final border on this one.

R4P-0ne-borderSomething Else New – I need to at least start my slice quilt section. We are showing our progress at Art Quilt Group later this month.

slice-quilt-picQuilt Addicts Anonymous BOM – The first step comes out January 15th. The fabric requirements have not been released yet. I plan to pull together most of my fabrics this month. I don’t know if there will be piecing instructions for January or not. If so, those will be part of the February List.
Creative Play – I’m still struggling with what to do and how to work it in. Once I start a project I get rather focused on finishing it. Stopping to do a totally unrelated technique doesn’t feel right to me. Sooner or later I’ll figure it out.
My word for 2016 is Breathe. The word always picks me. For you Harry Potter fans, it’s like the wand picking the wizard. I’d like to see this manifest as calm, focus and a more relaxed approach to life, but you never know. The 2015 word was Embrace, which helped me come to terms with many things and get my sewing mojo back.
I’m looking forward to a fun, creative and productive year.

This entry was posted in artquiltgroup, artquilts, bom, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

