Gluten Free For Breakfast

It’s time for another gluten free food review that doesn’t involve sweets or snacks. This time it’s all about breakfast.
The big excitement for me is that cheerios are now gluten free. I have seriously missed Honey Nut Cheerios. I’m snagging a box the next time I grocery shop.
On the sad face side of the tracks, I can no longer find Chex gluten free instant oatmeal. It isn’t listed on their website either. I really liked the apple cinnamon and will miss it this winter.
Instead I’m buying Quaker gluten free instant oatmeal. It only comes in Maple & Brown Sugar or plain. I don’t like it as well because it has too much sugar and/or salt in it. After I eat a packet I drink a ton of water for hours. I get around this by mixing half a packet with the same amount of plain oatmeal, which I bought in a big bag at Trader Joe’s. Unfortunately, Trader Joe’s didn’t have those big bags the last time I was there. I’m not sure what I’ll do when I run out.

oatmealI did manage to find a jar of almond butter on clearance at Kroger last week. That gives me the option to go back to Ezekiel toast.
As always, no affiliation with any of these companies.
Do you have a favorite gluten free breakfast? Please leave a comment and share your ideas. I’m up for trying something new.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free For Breakfast

  1. anudge says:

    May I suggest for an alternate to that gluten free apple cinnamon with the following:
    1/3 cup Quaker’s Oat (1 minute) reading the label you’ll see that the only ingredient is 100% oats – nothing else.
    1/4 tsp cinnamon
    handful of walnut pieces (optional)
    dash of salt
    1/3 cup milk or water (I use milk for the added calcium)
    1/3 cup of apple juice.
    Place all the ingredients in a tall microwavable bowl (to avoid spillage)
    Cook for 2 minutes, 20 seconds on power 7 (if you have a highwattage microwave)
    Let sit about a minute and enjoy.
    You have your apple cinnamon oatmeal for breakfast. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

