Stash Report And Creative Play

The stash report is easy because nothing changed. I had Art Quilt Group at The Foundry last week but didn’t buy anything. The owner spent most of the night unwrapping new bolts. I may not be able to resist forever, but I made it through that night.
Creative Play is one of my January Short List goals. I intend to keep that as a monthly goal in spite of struggling to actually do it. Yesterday was my first attempt, and if nothing else I learned a lot. Here is the sum total of my progress.

creative-play-1This is not quite what I envisioned. I will go into February knowing two important things that will improve the experience.
I need to go into Creative Play prepared. I spent all my time gathering supplies and pulling fabric. I didn’t decided what to play with until noon yesterday. I thought about it for days but struggled with what I wanted to do. So many ideas, so little spare time.
Secondly, I need to allow at least three hours. A whole morning or afternoon would be better. Ideas need a chance to expand and flow and veer off onto unexpected paths. I only had an hour or so yesterday and then I needed to be somewhere else.
In February I will schedule Creative Play for the first weekend after I finish Bouncing Bubbles. Stopping in the middle of a project to explore something new and different is a point of resistance for me. Once I get momentum going on a project I like to finish it. I find switching gears like that disruptive.
Something to work on going forward.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 1.75 yards
Fabric out: 0
Net Fabric ADDED: 1.75 yards

This entry was posted in creativity, stashbusting, The Short List and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stash Report And Creative Play

  1. daneesey says:

    LOL! It’s so opposite of me . . . I need to be reigned in. I get going in so many different directions, I have a hard time finishing *anything*! Thanks for dropping by my blog, too — you’re right — grand play trumps just about everything! 🙂

  2. Being creative is one of those things that’s hard to schedule. Though you didn’t get much done, figuring out what works for you is still great progress.

  3. Charlene S says:

    I would love to be able to just work on 1 project at a time but my Quilter’s ADD causes me to lose creative focus. I solve that problem with a secondary project on a second machine. While I sew on one my mind is working not only on the creative side of that one but also on the second one. It works for me!

Leave a Reply

