The Color Purple

Last night I went stash diving to see what I could use to make the Country Hearts pattern by Lynda Milligan and Nancy Smith. In case you missed it the first time, here it is.

country-heartsMy version will have fewer hearts. I like the soft colors, but maybe not those soft colors.
I pulled out a salesman’s sample pack from the Sincerely Yours line from RJR Fabrics in the purple color way. The line may have come out as many as ten years ago. I don’t care – I still like it.

country-hearts-fabricsI’d already decided on a green/yellow/purple/pink color scheme for the quilt. I really liked the purple and green quilt I made last year and donated to the battered women’s shelter. I thought this would be a good place to repeat it.
I was a little surprised by how many coordinating fabrics I found in my stash. The Sincerely Yours line is on the left. All the other fabrics just happen to play along.
I also pulled out a more modern fat quarter pack, but the scale of the prints didn’t work with the pattern. I’ll be saving those for another project.
I thought it might be interesting in Kaffe Fassett fabrics, but I don’t have enough of them. I ran into some print scale issues there too.
I leave the fabrics out and look at them all weekend, but I’m pretty sure this is what I’ll use.
Now if I could find a way to sew projects as fast as I can think of them, I’d be smiling.

This entry was posted in applique, Fabric and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Color Purple

  1. Denise says:

    I love the pattern and your fabric choices! I wish I could sew projects as fast as I think them up too!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

