A Yarn Finish

For my second scrap container, I crocheted this basket.

crochet-yarn-basketThe pattern came from She’s Got The Notion  . I used a hook one size bigger than the pattern required. The yarn had been eating up closet space for over 20 years and I think it was a little thicker than what they make now. I had a hard time stitching with the smaller hook.
I filled the basket with 12 yards of fat quarters to get it to stand, which made it look a little wonky. You can see it could hold a good bit more.
Now all my neutral scraps live there. I didn’t do much purging when I went through those. The neutrals were much bigger pieces than the other scraps.
I also found a pile of orphan blocks in the scrap box. I had no idea they were there. I put them in the UFO bin with all the other orphan blocks.
I still need scrap containers for the blues, reds and yellows/oranges/browns. I’m shocked at how many scraps I have, and not in a good way. Seems like I threw them in any old container until it filled and then started another one. No wonder I can never find anything.
I’m linking to Whoop Whoop Friday.

This entry was posted in crochet, scraps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Yarn Finish

  1. Denise says:

    That is a cool basket! I downloaded the pattern so I can make one. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Chantal says:

    I am in the same situation as you. Scraps in every bin, plastic containers and bags to the point I have no idea what I have anymore. I really like this bag and it is a good way to use up some old yarn. You did an excellent job. Thanks for sharing. ;^)

Leave a Reply

