Stash Report And Backsliding

Every other month, the stash takes a hit.
I had guild yesterday, which includes a trip to our favorite thrift shop. I did good at the meeting because I worked the admissions table. No time to browse the vendor booth or the charity fabric table. That’s one way to stay out of trouble.
At the thrift I picked up two yard cuts of Benartex, a large piece for a back for the tumblers, and a scrap bag of oriental prints. I don’t usually buy oriental prints, but these spoke to me. They are all from the same fabric line in two color ways in cuts just shy of a fat quarter. My friend thought they were salesman samples.
I would have liked to bring home more, but talked my friend into taking some things instead. That’s what quilty friends are for.
I also picked up a hank of bamboo yarn. To me it’s more of a floss used for embroidery than a true yarn, but the tag says yarn so I will count it. It’s so soft with subtle pink variations. No idea where I’ll use it.

thrift-fabric0316The most I paid for anything was $1.20/yards, the least $0.50. At those prices I will never leave good quality quilting fabric that appeals to me on the shelf, no matter how much fabric I have. I can always donate it to the guild for charity quilts.
I did use fabric for the slice quilt and pulled a couple random pieces of non-quilting fabric from the scrap bag to donate for a whopping half yard out.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 9 yards
Fabric out: 2.5 yards
Net Fabric ADDED: 6.5 yards
Yarn In: 15 yards
Yarn Out: 400 yds
Net Yarn OUT: 385 yds

This entry was posted in embroidery, quilt guild, scraps, stashbusting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stash Report And Backsliding

  1. Charlene S says:

    I agree with you there. If I see nice cotton fabric that appeals to me on sale, I will bring it home even if I cut it up and make a scrap quilt from it.

  2. Melanie says:

    I haven’t been lucky enough to find such great deals but I agree, if I should, I need to take grab the fabric!

  3. Gayle Kush says:

    I have overdyed thread like that before. It comes out nice as long as you stay in the same color way. Like red or orange. I found some wonderfully soft #10 cotten yarn in hanks there once. Bought it all! Wish they still sold that stuff! You reall can’t beat their prices for sure. We need to stop back there and the scrap box. But I fear I woukd need to drive the truck!

Leave a Reply

