The Treasure Basket

As a quilter, I buy things.
Books and fabric and patterns and notions and thread all beg me to take them home, where I promptly shove them in a bin or drawer and forget about them. The books have a higher status and I browse them for a few weeks, but then on the shelf they go.
When I do decide to use something I bought, I can’t find it. Nothing is more frustrating than spending hours looking for something except spending hours looking for something and not finding it. So wrong on so many levels.
To avoid this problem and keep me honest, on New Years Day I put together a Treasure Basket. We found several of these baskets in mom’s garage when we cleaned out the house. I think we bought peaches from the orchard in these when I was a kid. I lined it with a clear garbage bag on the outside chance there were still oils in the wood that might stain books or fabric. The basket lives on the corner of my sewing table.

Treasure-basketNow every time I go into my sewing room I see all the things I bought and haven’t used. Once I use something, like a book or a notion, it goes wherever I store similar items. If I don’t use what’s in the basket within some period of time that I have yet to determine, I will sell it at my guild’s garage sale. I even went back through my drawers and pulled out things I bought last summer and added them to the basket. I didn’t want to forget about them.
So far I’ve used a book to make a quilt and pulled fabric from one of the scrap bags to use in the BOM. Up to now, using fabric within a year of buying it was a victory.
I will also stick to just one basket. A second basket is not an option.
Maybe if I empty the basket enough I can pull older things from the drawers and add them to the basket so I remember to use them. I’ll let you know how that works for me.

This entry was posted in sewing room, shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Treasure Basket

  1. Melanie says:

    I love this idea! thanks for sharing.

  2. Denise Waterfield says:

    That is a great idea!! I am going to implement the basket idea. Thanks!!

  3. Pingback: The Perfect Project | quiltpaintcreate

  4. Sharon Browne says:

    I love this idea! I think I might try it myself.

Leave a Reply

