Thread Catchers And Other Thread Thought

The thread catchers are done and ready to go to guild for donation to the silent auction.

thread-catcher-setThe meeting isn’t until the 21st, but I wanted to get them done early so I wouldn’t stress about them. When I put things off until the last minute, other parts of my life usually get in the way.

I’ve also been thinking about how to work embroidery into my quilts outside of the stamped blocks and crazy quilting. I like the stamped blocks for mindless stitching on those nights I’m too tired to do anything else. I can truly appreciate crazy quilts and all the work that goes into them, but that style is never coming out of me. I just don’t have it in me.

I’m toying with other ideas. It feels like something that requires sitting down with fabric, needle and thread to see what happens. I can’t seem to think this one through. The form will emerge from the process, which is so not the way I work.

It’s good to try new things. It keeps me pushing those boundaries to see what really is in there trying to come out.

This entry was posted in embroidery, gifts, ideas, quilt guild and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thread Catchers And Other Thread Thought

  1. Erica says:

    I love your boxes! I have done crazy quilting with my machines decorative stitches and ribbon before. I will try to find the tutorial and send it your way!

  2. Gayle Kush says:

    Love the tgread catchers! I have some suggestions for hand embroidery for quilts too but I am not so good at the copy and paste on the tablet. Off the top of my head, Laura W. From Artfabrik has a great tutorial section on her blog that show cases simple basic stitches and what to do with them. I just stumbled across a blog a week or so ago threadbornblog.com which has a ton of free form stitching ideas. Both are featured in the lastest Quilting Arts. I have been dying my own thread which is very fun!

  3. Denise says:

    Your thread catchers are beautiful!! My suggestion is to start small on the needlework. If you want book suggestions let me know.

Leave a Reply

