Creative Play With Leaves

A while back I posted about this book.

German-quilt-bookI checked it out of the library and renewed it when it came due. I think I can renew it one more time before I have to give it up. I may need to buy this one.
I like so many of the projects in this book. I didn’t want to start a big quilt though, so I made a leaf block instead.

leaf-block-1The authors call it a tree block, but it looks more like a leaf to me. There is no pattern, just general cutting instructions. I still need to sew triangles in the corner to turn the block into a rectangle, but didn’t want to do that until I decided how I want to use the blocks.
The main fabric is a hand painted scrap from years gone by. It looks like I either twisted it or wrapped it around something to create texture.
I plan to experiment more with this block. The next one will use fabric pieced from scraps. The block may not look very big, but you start with a 10 x 6 rectangle plus a narrow strip the width of the fabric. The brown came out of the scrap bin.
Lots of possibilities with this one.

This entry was posted in fabricpainting, nature quilts, scraps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

