Stash Report And Guilt As Motivation

Some things are unavoidable.

On Memorial Day I went up to the Goodwill that opened near my house. It’s five minutes away and they carry tons of clothes like I’ve never seen at a Goodwill. Almost everything is designer label and like new. I bought the guys a couple shirts that still had the tags on them.

The pickings are slim in housewares, but I thought I’d check to see if they had any rugs. I wasn’t looking for fabric or craft items because I’d never seen either there.

This time they had quite a bit of fabric packaged in the plastic zipper pouches that hold blankets and bedspreads. I poked around but didn’t see any cotton. I was walking away – honestly – and saw a bag of what looked like feedsacks.

The bag didn’t contain feedsacks, but did have yardage from the 1930s through the early 1960s. Most of it was only 36 inches wide. There were a few pieces of current fabric, but that bag was vintage through and through. I cringed, but I bought it anyway. The store clearly didn’t understand what it had because I paid $3 for the lot of it.

I can hardly bring myself to count it. I tallied some of it yesterday and stopped at just under 12 yards. There has to be that much more I haven’t counted. I will bite the bullet and get it counted this week.

vintage-fabric-1I have one more section of the tumblers to quilt, and then I can show some usage. I am in the sewing room more these days, mostly out of guilt. If all this great fabric is going to come my way, I feel obligated to use it as quickly as possible. I have no hope of hitting positive usage this year, but I would like to make a dent in the increase.

I’m linking to Patchwork Times.

Fabric In: 82.3 yards

Fabric out: 8 5/8 yards

Net Fabric ADDED: 73.67 yards

Yarn In: 21 yards

Yarn Out: 400 yds

Net Yarn OUT: 379 yds

This entry was posted in antique, stashbusting, thrift shops and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stash Report And Guilt As Motivation

  1. What a great treasure you found!

  2. Kate says:

    Oh, that was way too good to pass up. Some times stash enhancement just happens, but with the cost of fabric, it’s really hard to turn those opportunities down.

  3. I’m managing not to be too envious as my sewing machine is broken and it would be torture to have found that bargain! But, like you, I do like to keep an eye for material in charity shops

Leave a Reply

