What If Wednesday – Blessings Shared

So many blessings have come into my life lately. I do my best to remember to appreciate them and not take them for granted. There’s plenty in my life that no one would think to envy and that makes those blessings even more special.

I’m not sure what triggered the thought, but I’ve been thinking about what comes of good fortune.

I am grateful for a wide range of things in my life. Something as simple as seeing a deer and her fawn on the drive into work makes me smile. There isn’t much to do with that. I see it. I enjoy it. I smile and continue on my way.

deerOther things lend themselves to sharing. I might see something at the store and pick it up for someone because I know that person will enjoy it. It may be a small thing, but it’s the thought that has meaning.

Or maybe I’m in a good mood and in turn say something nice to someone that needs to hear it, whether I know the person or not. Kind words from a stranger come with no agenda. How refreshing.

And here’s where it gets interesting. What if blessings come to us as opportunities, and not just opportunities to give? What if they are opportunities to grow and learn and change and fail? Does anything teach us more than our failures? What if a blessing forces us to be MORE? And what if it allows us to help others be more?

It’s given me a lot to think about. I don’t look at those gifts the same way anymore.

Except the wildlife. The deer and the turkeys and all the other animals are still free. Those are for me and anyone else that notices them to enjoy without a lot of thought, although I’m still shaky on the large cat with the long tail that was too far across the field for me to positively ID.

Perhaps I’ll see it again some day.

This entry was posted in ideas, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What If Wednesday – Blessings Shared

  1. Denise says:

    That was a great blog post! The blog post gave me a lot to think about at a time when I need to think about my blessings. Thank you!!

  2. Joyce Crabtree says:

    I agree. Blessings are right in front of us every day. I like that you took time to write about them and remind us to be kind.

Leave a Reply

