Stash Report And Counting Quirks

The stash report is a bit of a lost cause this year, but I say that with a smile. No sense taking something that should be fun too seriously.

I had a chunk of fabric out for the tumbler quilt. The tumblers themselves came from the guild charity quilt fabric table, but I added the sashing, binding and back.

I didn’t buy any fabric this week, even though I was at a quilt shop. I was tempted by a bundle of polka dot fat eighths, but I couldn’t think of where to use such small pieces. I could have figured something out no doubt. I decided my energy is better spent figuring out how to use what I already have.

A friend did gift me some muslin fabric strips that closely match what’s in the cat blocks, so a small add there.

cat-block-fabricThe muslin was 60” wide, but I still counted it by the cut, which was just over a half yard. On the vintage fabrics, I also counted by the cut even though they were only 35” wide. If I used those fabrics in a pattern that called for a yard of fabric, I would need closer to a yard and a half because of the narrower width.

I could have converted it all to 45” fabric and made the numbers look better, but I chose to spend the time sewing instead of doing all that math. I rarely buy fabric that isn’t the standard width, but this year seems to be the exception.

I’m linking to Patchwork Times.

Fabric In: 94.9 yards

Fabric out: 13 yards

Net Fabric ADDED: 81.9 yards

Yarn In: 21 yards

Yarn Out: 400 yds

Net Yarn OUT: 379 yds

This entry was posted in Fabric, gifts, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stash Report And Counting Quirks

  1. Kate says:

    That looks like a very cute quilt. Every little bit out helps. And I agree, it’s not such a serious thing to be in enhancement mode. One day you’ll probably be glad you’ve added what you have.

    • I’m already glad for what I have. I can make any project on “the list” without a trip to the quilt shop, and that includes having backs. July may be another bad month for adds because of sales, but there won’t be any more after that until the end of the year.

      Donna

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. Dar in MO says:

    There is always next week.. I love kitty quilts. Yours looks cute, what I can see of it.

  3. New visitor to your blog, here! I love that cat fabric; it’s Dan Miller, right? I have a panel of his cats that I’m sort of saving for something special.

    Sounds like setting aside the BOM project was the right thing to do. I know for me, too much visual or mental clutter stops everything in its tracks.

Leave a Reply

