Stash Report And An Epiphany

No fabric in or out this week. I finished a couple more BOM blocks and another bear block. I don’t count fabric out until the project is finished.

Last night was a turning point on the BOM. I haven’t been enjoying the process. I like the idea of the quilt, but the blocks take a lot of time and the numerous fabrics and small pieces take up most my workspace. Trying to piece those blocks and the borders for the raffle block left me feeling scattered and frustrated. I was making a hash of both of them.

So this morning I went in the sewing room and packed the entire BOM into a large storage bin and put away all the tools and notions I used to make the blocks. I now have plenty of space to work and can focus on the raffle block. I feel so much better.

I will print off the rest of the instructions as they come up each month. I believe I will finish it someday, but I may do some redesigning to eliminate things that bother me. I should know better than to think I can follow a pattern as is. Not going to happen.

I did buy some quilting books at the library book sale. I didn’t plan on going, but I had to pick up books I’d called in and when I got there the sale had just started. I got delayed on my way there or I would have missed it. It felt like the quilting fairies had a hand in getting me there at just the right time. Ignoring their efforts would have been ungracious.

quilt-books-library-saleThe cat book is my fave. There are lots of patterns for cats in motion, doing things cats really do, without a lot of project suggestions. Can’t wait to play with those.

I’m linking to Patchwork Times.

Fabric In: 94.9 yards

Fabric out: 13 yards

Net Fabric ADDED: 81.9 yards

Yarn In: 21 yards

Yarn Out: 400 yds

Net Yarn OUT: 379 yds

This entry was posted in bom, books, embroidery, stashbusting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stash Report And An Epiphany

  1. Gayle Kush says:

    I have had all of those books at one time or another. Good choices!

  2. Kate says:

    I always work so much better with a clean workspace. I have the Scrap Quilts book, it was one of my first acquisitions. Enjoy your stitching time.

Leave a Reply

