What If Wednesday: Two Questions

This week I heard two questions that got me thinking, one from a speaker and another from a podcaster.

The podcast question came from Stephanie over at Sit & Sew Radio. If you haven’t listened to her new podcast, you should. She interviews guests for all her content, usually three guests an episode. It reminds me of the Annie Smith podcasts back in the day.

She asks each of her guests which one quilt means the most to her. It’s the quilt you would grab as you ran out the door if your house was on fire.

It’s the kind of question that should not be over thought. The answer should just come from the gut.

I had nothing. Not a single quilt came to mind.

The second question came from the speaker at guild last weekend, Sujata Shah. She asked if we were making or creating. She defined creating as stitching your heart and life into a piece. Every time she picks up one of her quilts she remembers what was going on at the time, whether it be joys or heartache. She stitches herself into her quilts.

What a beautiful concept.

Sometimes when I look at my own quilts I feel like something is missing. The pieces feel done, but they lack a certain something. I think that something is me. I do not stitch my heart and soul into my quilts. I hold back, and I think at some level it shows. My quilts are not a full representation of who I really am.

Now there is something to think about.

If art should be anything, it should be a reflection of the artist.

I shouldn’t be surprised this realization comes on the heels of the New Idea. Nor am I surprised that The Roadblock suddenly appeared today. They always do you know. It’s a test, and one I don’t always pass.

So what if I show up? What if I pour myself into the New Idea? What if I stay on this path no matter what?

I guess we’ll find out together.

This entry was posted in creativity, ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What If Wednesday: Two Questions

  1. Carol Miller says:

    I am interested to see what you will pour. I won’t be there in July, but I want to see something in August. Pour on the passion, I know you can do it. Carol

  2. Denise says:

    Thanks for the blog post! Now, I have something to think about!! 😉

Leave a Reply

