What If Wednesday, A Day Late

I stopped at the library today to pick up books I’d called in. Out of the blue, I thought, “what if I randomly pick a book off the fiction shelves and give it a shot?” That might be an interesting experiment. Best case I find a new author I like. Worst case I read to page twenty and return the book.

I decided to set a few ground rules. I do not read horror or political conspiracy genres. The world is a scary enough place and politics bore me. If I randomly picked a book in either category I could pick a different book. Everything else was fair game.  I would not read the book jacket and screen my selection.  Anything outside those two categories qualified.

My first random selection was Five Quarters of the Orange by Joanne Harris. Most people recognize her as the author of Chocolat.

When I finish this book, I will select a different one.

In Smarter Faster Better, Charles Duhigg said, “Every choice in life is an experiment”.

I like that. I read a lot of books, so why not have some fun with it?

This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

