Back!

We returned from a vacation of hiking in Red River Gorge in Daniel Boone National Forest today.  The trails were brutal in places and we had a blast.  I have some amazing pictures from scenic overlooks, but my PC wouldn’t boot, so those will have to wait for another day.

The food in the area was amazing and so inexpensive.  We never had a bad meal, and only once did we have less than exceptional service.  Even if you don’t hike or climb, I would still recommend the area for scenic drives and those awesome overlooks.

I was a little disappointed not to see more wildlife.  For all the bear warning signs all over the park, we only once saw signs that a bear had been there before us, in the form of scratch marks on a tree.  They were fresh enough to still ooze sap, but the bear was long gone.  We jumped a grouse on one of the trails and saw lots of lizards, but not much else.

We also visited my husband’s family graveyard.  This is a new concept for me as my relatives are buried all over.  There were markers there back at least four generations, and they still bury people there today.  I was amazed at his ability to find it.  We basically drove to Morehead and headed another hour out of town to the top of a mountain in the middle of nowhere, and there it was, right where the GPS said it would be.  I have pictures from there too.

I will post pictures as soon as I can, hopefully later this weekend.

 

This entry was posted in family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back!

  1. Denise says:

    I’m glad you had a great time on your vacation! You sound very relaxed and energized. I can’t wait to see your pictures.
    One of my other hobbies is genealogy. I’m very happy that you took photos of your husband’s family’s headstones. It is very important to genealogy because some of the older headstones get damaged and decay over time. You have a real treasure of genealogical information.

Leave a Reply

