Stitch To Dye Finish

Last weekend I managed to get my first Stitch To Dye piece into the dye bath. Dyeing is one of those things that can only happen for me on the weekends.

Here is the piece before I dyed it

log-cabin-quiltedand here it is after. I used Bronze dye mixed half strength.

s2d1-doneI thought the quilt would come out darker based on how it looked in the dye bath.  The green in the background is the plastic I use to protect my counter.

s2d1-dye-bathI learned so much making this quilt. I can’t wait to get started on the next one.

I will do some things different the next time around. I will mix the dye full strength. I like the way the first piece took the dye, but I don’t want to interfere with process again. What happens, happens.

I will also throw a piece of muslin in the dye bath to use for the sleeve. It’s just easier that way.

Lastly, I will give more thought to how I use white on white fabric. Some of it really stands out, some doesn’t. Good to know.

I do think I got the density of the quilting about right. I’m also glad I waited to add the sleeve until after I dyed it because the bottom is now the top. It looked better that way.

I’m linking to Whoop Whoop Friday and Off The Wall Friday.

This entry was posted in dyeing, scrapquilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stitch To Dye Finish

  1. I followed this process with interest. Looking forward to the next one, also.

  2. Gayle Kush says:

    That is so strange how that took the dye. That really is a very dark color too. Did you scour the fabric with soda ash in the wash water first? The dark pieces took up the dye better than the lights which is rare. I use white on white for dyeing but I use the wrong side when I put it in a quilt. You still get the design but it’s not so bold. Very interesting results.

  3. I love books by C June Barnes, her techniques are simple but so much fun. I made a quilt top once by free motion stitching designs in it and using 100% wool felt as the batting, dyed it, then put it in a really hot bath to scrunch it up.

Leave a Reply

