October Short List

It’s time for another Short List. I have no idea where September went. I think it snuck out the back when I wasn’t looking.

Last month I finished a scrap project, one bear block and learned some new FMQ designs for creative play. Not as much as I wanted to get done, but better than nothing.

The Short List is something old (UFO), something new, a scrap project, a handwork project and Creative Play. I started using this system in November 2014 to keep myself focused. I adjust the categories as needed to add new interests and drop things that no longer appeal.

Something Old: I decided to work on what I call the Color Study. It started as a monochromatic challenge for my Art Quilt Group. I drew yellow as my color and hated what I made. Then the group decided to do a triadic color challenge and I thought I might salvage this project. I’m not sure if the pink grass gets to stay or not. There is a plan, but it keeps changing.

color-challenge-baseSomething New: The Market Bag, or the never-ending bag project. I made some progress on this in September. I’m having a hard time staying motivated on this one.

market-bag-frontScrap Project: I want to start the next Stitching To Dye project. Experiment #2 has me adding previously dyed fabric to the neutral scraps. I will also use two block patterns instead of one and continue with the liberated piecing.

Handwork: I’m stitching the last bear block. Once that is done I will work on the project from the Rose Hughes class last summer.

class-projectCreative Play: I have a few ideas, but not sure what will really happen. Could be something totally different.

I REALLY want to finish that bag and start working on one of the UFOs. Even though the Rose Hughes class project falls under the handwork category, it is a UFO. I’d love to finish a few more of those before the end of the year.

This entry was posted in bags and purses, embroidery, scrapquilts, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

