A Different Way Of Doing

A nagging little injury took me away from exercise and yoga this week and forced me to sit down and rest instead. It freed up a big chunk of time that I needed to fill with something positive to keep it from being a wasted week.

First I quilted the Rose Hughes class piece, made the binding and then the sleeve.

rh-quiltedThere’s a whole lot of unraveling going on here. Finishing the embroidery means handling it for several weeks. I figured binding it now is the way to go.

Then I sorted my neutral scraps and pulled some for the next Stitching To Dye (S2D) piece. After that I finished reading Liberated Quiltmaking and came up with my own method for making the blocks in the next S2D quilt. It took me a while to get my mind around that one. Old ways are hard to change. New methods feel awkward and uncomfortable. No way will that stop me, but I needed to think it through so I didn’t frustrate myself.

I also finished a book and caught up the laundry and a lot of small tasks.

And that, my friends, is how you turn a stupid move into a creative windfall.

This entry was posted in dyeing, quilting, scrapquilts, scraps and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

