The November Short List

I have no idea where October went and now here comes the holiday season. That means a few extra days off work to spend in the sewing room. We’ll see how that works out.

Last month I finished the Market Bag, the last bear block and played with liberated piecing for Creative Play. I also started the next handwork project. It was a good month.

The Short List is something old (UFO), something new, a scrap project, a handwork project and Creative Play. I started using this system in November 2014 to keep myself focused. I adjust the categories as needed to add new interests and drop things that no longer appeal.

Something Old: I’ve had the Color Study on the list for three months and not worked on it, so I’m thinking it’s not the right time for that project. I will either work on that or what I call the Goddess Block. That started in a class I took over ten years ago. It was stored in a box that got damp and mildewed, so I tore the project apart and threw parts of it away. All I have left of the original project (below) is the head.

mildewed-quiltSomething New: A Heartbeat quilt, which I believes goes to single young ladies that are expecting. I hope to have this done soon.

Scrap Project: The next Stitching To Dye project. Experiment #2 has me adding previously dyed fabric to the neutral scraps. I will also use two block patterns instead of one and continue with the liberated piecing.

wonky-ninesHandwork: I’ve been working on the Rose Hughes class piece. I’m having fun trying new embroidery stitches.

rh-boundCreative Play: We plan to sew together scraps to make new fabric, or something like that, at the next Art Quilt Group meeting.

Even though the Rose Hughes class project falls under the handwork category, it is a UFO. With three UFOs on the list, I’d like to think I’ll finish one of them.

This entry was posted in artquiltgroup, artquilts, baby quilts, classes, dyeing, embroidery, scrapquilts, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

