Book Experiment Round Six

So here we are again with another random book selection.

I did not finish the last book, but I did make an attempt to read it. I’m not sure what to say about Bear. I couldn’t relate to any of the characters, nor did I find them believable. I couldn’t buy into the story either. It started out as a normal, if not mundane book. Then it just got weird and didn’t live up to the hype. I think I gave up around page 80.

This trip to the library I completely bypassed the fiction section. I started wandering through non-fiction with no destination in mind. My library switched to a system where the books are divided by category, and then in Dewey decimal order within the category. It makes no sense to me. I found numerical order to be much more straightforward. I guess that makes me out of touch with the times.

So I’m browsing the non-fiction and come across a section called “Unexplained”. Seriously. Is this really a classification of literature? It was right next to “True Crime”, which I did consider. I opted out because I don’t believe in violence as entertainment, although all crimes are not violent. Maybe I’ll give that section a try later.

The book I chose is The Afterlife of Billy Fingers by Annie Kagan. Once again, there was little info on the book jacket. I decided NOT to look this one up online. I don’t want to know.

billy-fingersI’m hopeful I’ll find more to like in non-fiction than I did in fiction. I still have the option of other categories, or I could move to the Young Adult section if needed.

Unexplained. It still cracks me up.

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Experiment Round Six

  1. Gayle Kush says:

    Intersting how your library is shelving books. It is kind of wierd though because the dewey numbers are actually assigned by content which in reality is category right? I can maybe see that for fiction because people always ask where certain genre is kept. They never like it when it’s by author only. We used to use spine stckers but it doesn’t seem as consistant as before. You’ll have to let us know what unexplained ends up being.

Leave a Reply

