Four Steps On The Journey

It’s time to start thinking about what worked and what didn’t this year, and possible goals for next year. I like to live with ideas before I embrace them. I need to know we can have a working relationship. The specifics will come in a later post.

In looking back over the year, I realized that four things happened that completely changed how and what I create. Each thing happened independently of the others, but they all work together beautifully. I couldn’t have planned it any better.

The first thing was the “I may have a scrap problem” challenge hosted by Sarah at Confessions of a Fabric Addict. Now that I’ve organized my scraps, that’s the first place I go to pick fabric for a project. I have to force myself to pull from yardage. I wish I’d started working this way years ago. Thanks Sarah!

The second thing was purchasing the Stitching To Dye book, which in turn led me to Liberated Quiltmaking by Gwen Marston. I hate all that fussy point matching, and I love quilts with a lot of movement. I wish I’d found this years ago too.

The third thing was solving the tension problem on my wide-bed machine. I rarely free motion quilted anything before I got the machine working right. Now I free-motion everything, and I’m enjoying it like I never thought I would.

The last thing was buying an obscene amount of fabric. I know some of you burn through more than 100 yards a year as a matter of course, but I do not. All that new fabric has inspired me, and it’s where I go first when I do need yardage. I really do have to force myself to look in the drawers and pull from older stash. The new fabrics and my scraps account for almost all of what I use.

So there you have it. Makes me wonder what next year will bring.

This entry was posted in books, Fabric, scrapquilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four Steps On The Journey

  1. Melanie says:

    I like to reflect during this time of year too and hope to find time this weekend to do so. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

