New Life For An Old Project

I hope that everyone that celebrates it had a wonderful Thanksgiving yesterday. I am grateful I had a day off from work to spend with my family, have a yummy meal and do some sewing. I had the best visit with mom I’d had in a long time. Everyone is healthy, and it doesn’t get any better than that.

I finished the journal cover using what I called “the goddess block”, a UFO from a class I took ten years ago. Where does the time go? I’m sorry to say I have UFOs even older that I still love and want to finish. At least this one is off the list.

goddess-journal-coverBehind the appliqué I used a product called Wash Away Stitch Stabilizer by CT Publishing* that I pulled out of my Treasure Basket. I picked it up at a sale at The Quilt Foundry. About a year ago, they bought all the items a local distributor put on clearance and them sold them cheap. I probably paid $1 or $2 for the stabilizer, and I really loved it. It stabilized without adding stiffness, and my machine stitched through it beautifully. I decided not to wash it away because it wasn’t necessary for this project.

It’s a peel and stick stabilizer that comes on sheets that will go through a printer. I don’t know if I will use it that way or not. I get nervous with things like that because the printer ink needs to go somewhere when the stabilizer dissolves, and I mostly embroider on light colored backgrounds. Not sure that’s a chance I want to take.

I’m linking to Whoop Whoop Friday and Off The Wall Friday.

 

*I have no affiliation with CT Publishing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Life For An Old Project

  1. I love your goddess block, and what a cool way to use it so that you can enjoy it every time you pick up the journal to write. And if it is for a friend or family member (or to sell), how lucky the user will be. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

