Book Experiment Round Seven

I finished The Afterlife of Bill Fingers, the round six book. It was the fastest read of any of the books so far. I think it was classified as “unexplained” because the subject matter was life after death. Whether you believe in that or not, the book contained some pearls of wisdom, especially in the first half. I finished this book, which is more than I did with some selections. I don’t know that I would recommend it though. I felt like the book was so specific and personal to the author that it lost meaning for the rest of us.

Because I am a glutton for punishment, I ventured back into the fiction section for the next pick. This book came from the “Inspirational fiction” section, which means that God and faith make an appearance. How much of an appearance depends on the author.

My choice is Into The Free by Julie Cantrell. Never heard of the book and I don’t think I’ve ever read the author before. It’s about a girl growing up in Depression-era Mississippi that’s trying to rise above her circumstances. It has a 4.6/5 rating on Amazon with almost 700 reviews. I believe this is the highest rated book I’ve chosen.

Over the next few weeks I will decide what things I’ve done in 2016 will continue into 2017 and which will not. If you have strong feelings about the book experiment either way, let me know. I have definitely read books well outside the pattern of what I usually read. I had hoped to find some treasures, but that hasn’t happened so far.

Perhaps that wasn’t the point. Maybe the experience is the point. I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

