Does It Stay Or Does It Go?

With 2017 just around the corner, I’ve been thinking about creative goals. It’s just as important to decide what has to go to make room for the new. So here’s what I think you’ll see here next year and what you won’t.

Stashbusting stays in an effort to redeem myself for this year. I will also continue with scrap quilting and the Stitching To Dye series. I’m having too much fun with both. I’ll continue using The Short List, but the categories will change yet again. I consider it evolution.

I added the “Get It Done” UFO challenge over at Patchwork Times. There is still time to sign up and join the fun.

The 350 block challenge goes next year. There will be no block of the month, mystery quilts or quilt-alongs next year. I have too many other things I want to do.

The book experiment goes. I only made it through a dozen pages of my last pick. It was interesting, but there are better uses for my time.

No doubt other new things will come along. This year brought liberated piecing, a new level of free motion quilting, scrap goals and a renewed interest in dyeing. I finished 20 projects, 4 of them UFOs. I increased my fabric usage by 40%. In spite of all the life that happened, it was a good year.

My favorite project? It’s hard to pick.

fat-quarter-bagThe fabrics in the fat quarter bag are so me. This is my favorite colorwise.

s2d1-doneThe first Stitching To Dye piece was the most fun to make. I was pleased with how it dyed, which set the tone to continue with the series. This one felt like coming home.

modern-geisha-doneI love Modern Geisha for the strong graphic design. It lives with my MIL now and is well loved. You can’t ask for anything more.

Thanks to everyone for visiting the blog and leaving comments. I’m constantly amazed by your ideas and suggestions.

Best wishes for a happy and healthy New Year.

This entry was posted in artquilts, bags and purses, dyeing, scrapquilts, stashbusting, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

