The January 2017 Short List

Here it is a new year and a new Short List. In December I completed two projects and dyed the Stitching To Dye piece for creative play. It was a good month considering.

The most recent version of The Short List includes something old (UFO), something new, a scrap project, a handwork project and Creative Play. I started using this system in November 2014 to keep myself focused. I adjust the categories as needed to add new interests and drop things that no longer appeal.

For 2017, I decided to reduce the number of categories because I never finish more than two or three things in a month, and make a change to creative play. I’ll try it for a few months and see how it goes.

  • Something old – The color study is UFO #3 that was chosen for January’s Get It Done Challenge at Patchwork Times. This is the UFO that needs the least work. It would be good to just finish it and be done with it.color-challenge-baseSomething new – The Safehouse quilt in process. Cuddles like this one.bricks-in-process
  • Handwork – I struggled with this one, but finally decided to work on a crochet rug. I have a couple different patterns and will try a few out by making hot pads to see which one I like best.
  • Art Quilt Play – I’m changing this category to cover using or experimenting with the various art/quilting supplies in my stash. This could include paint, dye, watercolors, pastels, ink, foil, lutrador, specialty threads, angelina or anything else I have. Some supplies keep well over time, but others do not. Might as well get some use out of them.

I also have another new project on standby in case I finish the Safehouse quilt, although that isn’t likely. A few finishes this month would make for a good start to the year.

I’m linking to Design Wall Monday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The January 2017 Short List

  1. AnnieO says:

    It is nice that your #3 UFO is an easy one–that helps get things going! Nice goals for all your fabric play this year.

Leave a Reply

