Word Of The Year

This should be the last post that transitions everything into the new year. Time to stop thinking about it and start living it!

My word of the year for 2016 was Breathe. More than anything, it made me think about slowing down and taking time for the important things. My life looks much more like I want it to than it did a year ago. There is still room for improvement, but forward progress happened.

My word for 2017 is Open.

I had my list of words narrowed down to “experiment” and “explore”, with a leaning toward “explore”. But for some reason, it didn’t feel quite right. I took some time to consider that choice and Breathe, and that’s when Open came to me.

I don’t have any notion of what Open will bring. I know there will be big changes in my life this year, the kind that will reshape my schedule and my decisions. As often happens in the midst of challenge, I only deal with one day at a time. I can already see a shift in perspective, a look at things from a different point of view. There will be many lessons this year, some of them hard. I choose to focus on the unexpected gifts that come with them.

If you picked a word of the year, feel free to leave a comment and share.

This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

