February Short List

The months just fly by.

In January I completed two projects and creative play. I haven’t posted pictures of the creative play, but will soon.

The Short List includes something old (UFO), something new, a handwork project and Art Quilt Creative Play. I started using this system in November 2014 to keep myself focused. I adjust the categories as needed to add new interests and drop things that no longer appeal.

  • Something old – The Applewood Farms BOM from 2009 is UFO #9 that was chosen for January’s Get It Done Challenge at Patchwork Times. I have a lot left to do on this quilt and it has more than one spot on the Get It Done list.

af-bom-2009Something new – The Safehouse quilt in process. I am assembling the top and hate to lose momentum at this point. This quilt is also on the Get It Done list, and I may decide to switch it out with the UFO that was chosen. I’ll have to see how it goes.

rwb-bricks-centerHandwork – I struggled with this one, but decided to stick with the crochet rug. I’m spending a lot of time with mom as her health continues to fail.   I wanted something I can work on while I sit with her. She sleeps a lot and doesn’t always want a light on. Since poor lighting makes appliqué and embroidery more chore than fun, crochet seemed the best choice.

  • Art Quilt Play – This category covers using or experimenting with the various art/quilting supplies in my stash. I played with paint in January and will post about it soon. There’s a whole story that goes with this one.

My biggest challenge in February will be pulling and cutting fabric for the rug. When I have time to sew I want to finish the Safehouse top. There is nothing magical about cutting several yards of fabric into one-inch strips. It’s a good way to use scraps and old fabric though, and I am looking forward to that.

This entry was posted in artquilts, bom, charityquilts, crochet, fabricpainting, scraps, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February Short List

  1. Gayle Kush says:

    A few years ago, I took the time to cut up my scraps according to Bonnie Hunters guidelines. I made myself go into the sewing room every single day for at least 10-20 minutes. Most days it was under 15. I was amazed at how much fabric I could cut in that time. I just gave up trying to do anything “all at once” at that point. If you can only make six cuts that day, stack three pieces of fabric together and wind up with three times as many strips! I used to play games with myself to see how I could change things up to be faster or more creatve. Funny thing was that just being in there for that short amoint of time made me find more time in there over all. Uour situationis of course a whole lot different but every little bit helps. At least cutting strips of fabric that no l9nger has meaning to you is pretty mindless!

Leave a Reply

