What If Wednesday, A Day Late

Not much sewing going on around here. I haven’t been motivated to work on current projects. I thought about starting a new project, but haven’t come up with the energy to do that either. I don’t even know if something new would hold my attention.

Rather than hang out in this uncreative place until the feeling moves on, I decided to try something. Anything. The first steps are always the hardest.

What if I force myself to go into the sewing room every night for ten or fifteen minutes? Sewing is not required. I just have to be in there and stay awake. I gave myself permission to stare at the wall or refold my fabric or look at a book. What I do doesn’t matter.

I will put myself in a creative space, knowing that I have a very hard time sitting and doing absolutely nothing. Either my sewing room will become cleaner, or I will sew something. I’m even willing to sew something ugly. Anything goes.

I’m heading into the sewing room right now to see what happens.

This entry was posted in creativity, experiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What If Wednesday, A Day Late

  1. Denise Waterfield says:

    I loved your blog post! I find it hard to go into my sewing room sometimes. I always seem to find myself stitching in the living room. Sometimes the sewing room is too much isolation for me. I started out sewing using the dining room table and sometimes miss that. I like your idea of going in the sewing room for 10-15 minutes a day without any expectations. I will try that to see if it works for me.

Leave a Reply

