Back To Basics

After a break from the sewing room, I’m back to forcing myself in there most days. I can’t believe how easy it is to fall out of the habit. It reminds me of resolutions to eat healthier or exercise every day. They sound good at the time.

The pillowcase is coming along, and I’m ready to start quilting the third Stitching To Dye piece. Nothing has changed enough to post a new photo.

I spent about an hour auditioning fabric for the bear blocks over the weekend. Hard to believe that in my bazzilion yards of fabric, this was all I found that looked good as sashing.

I don’t think that will cover it.

I’m off to the quilt shop Saturday to see what I can find that will work. I poked around a bit last night at quilt group and saw some promising yellows. As much as I hate to buy more fabric, I’m not seeing a way around it.

I just need to make sure I stick to my very short list.

This entry was posted in embroidery, Fabric, ufos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back To Basics

  1. Gayle Kush says:

    Oooooh! Yellows! That is one of the colors I will always break my “not going to buy any more fabric rules” for.

  2. Dar in MO says:

    I’m in the same boat as you when it comes to yellows. Not very many to choose from and the ones I have are not very pretty. Did you audition some totally different color families to see if any of them worked. Sometimes when you least expect it, there is a winner hidden among those stash shelves.
    Good luck.

  3. A few years ago I did a complete fabric sort by color…it shouldn’t have surprised me, but I had the least stash of the colors I like the most. Oh, that’s right, I really USE those colors. It is perfectly OK to go and get what you love and use. While you are there, buy a yard each of 5-10 yellows and brighten up your day (and stash) considerably. 🙂

Leave a Reply

