Stash Report And Taxes

No fabric added or used this week.

I’m feeling frustrated lately that it takes so long for me to finish anything. I realize I need more time in the sewing room, which is much easier said than done. Because I have so many deadlines at work I tend not to push myself when it comes to things I enjoy. Creating without deadlines is my guilty pleasure.

All of this got me thinking about how I handle my work deadlines. When I have to finish something (taxes) by a certain date and I don’t enjoy doing it, I tackle that task first before the day can get away from me. I usually start before I need to in case there are unforeseen delays. Then it’s done and I don’t have to think about it anymore or worry about missing the deadline and getting my employer fined, or worse yet, audited.

It’s a system that works well. Can you see where this is going?

So after lunch yesterday I quilted the Stitching to Dye piece, squared it up and cut the facing pieces.

I don’t count fabric out until quilts are finished. This one will be in next week’s totals.

Quilting will never be my favorite part of the process. I just need to learn to treat it like taxes.

I’m linking to Patchwork Times.

Fabric In: 8.875 yards

Fabric out: 10.125 yards

Net Fabric USED: 1.25 yards

Yarn In: 0

Yarn Out: 2 yards

Net Yarn Used: 2 yards

This entry was posted in scrapquilts, stashbusting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stash Report And Taxes

  1. Shauna T says:

    I think that is a great approach, I tend to put off and then scramble.

  2. Dar in MO says:

    That approach is what I try to do too when it’s something that will cause me consequences for not getting it done on time. My taxes were always that way. This year I broke down and paid someone to do mine (because they got too complicated for me anyway). I usually do things first when they are for others too, putting myself and my own projects last. Guess that is a trait I inherited from my mother.

Leave a Reply

