Third Stitching To Dye Finish

The third Stitching To Dye piece went into the second dye bath this weekend. I wanted to make sure it was done for my Art Quilt Group meeting Tuesday night.
To recap, here is the finished quilt before dyeing.

Here it is after dyeing it Sun Yellow.

And here it is after the second dye run with Raspberry dye.

I applied the dye by hand with the quilt in a flat tray so I could get the dye the way I wanted it. I really wanted to make sure some of the yellow showed through.
The big surprise was the way the thread took the dye. Some dyed yellow, some dyed raspberry, and some dyed somewhere in between. It may not show in the picture, but it gave the look of variegated thread.
This is my favorite of the Stitching To Dye quilts so far.
I have a few things I want to finish before I move on to the fourth quilt in this series, but the design is in the works.

This entry was posted in artquilts, dyeing, scrapquilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Third Stitching To Dye Finish

  1. Linda Elling says:

    It’s beautiful. I love everything about it!

  2. Gayle Kush says:

    This one is outstanding!

  3. Dar in MO says:

    This turned out great. I like that you left some yellow to show through. ‘A winner.

  4. Denise Waterfield says:

    Your project turned out GREAT! I can’t wait to see the next one!

  5. I like how the yellow peaks through in places. A gorgeous finish!

Leave a Reply

