Chunky Churn Dash

I saw this quilt at the show last weekend and was smitten.  It was part of the silent auction.

It took me a few minutes to figure out what made the blocks different. The middle pieces are half the size of the corners.
I really liked the look, so I sewed up a few. They will finish at 6.25 inches.

These will go into the runner instead of the other variation of the churn dash block. The finished runner won’t resemble the Butter & Eggs pattern at all. I just don’t have the pattern following gene.
Except for the background fabric, I’m using scraps to make the blocks. These 1930 repro fabrics have been hanging around for years.
I’m linking to Confessions of a Fabric Addict.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chunky Churn Dash

  1. Dar in Mo says:

    These are cute little churn dash blocks. I can see why they took your fancy.

  2. dezertsuz says:

    Also called Monkey Wrench in that configuration. Great blocks which look lovely in those fabrics.

  3. Joyce Crabtree says:

    I’m glad you found a use for those old fabrics. Way to go Donna!

Leave a Reply

