A Quick Check In

The week got away from me and I never did post anything.
Work has been especially draining and frustrating lately, and when I get home at night I haven’t felt like doing anything creative. Ironically, I think that’s when it’s most important to do something you love to keep things in perspective.
I’ve done some reading on making fabric collage, which is something that caught my eye a month or two ago. I’ve never had any art training and can’t seem to get my mind around how to put together abstract design. It will never be my “thing”, but sometimes it’s nice to move out of your comfort zone and try something new just to see what happens.
The collage book finally came in at the library, and I’ve been looking at that. I also checked out a book on abstract painting, thinking that the exercises in a different medium might provide insight without limiting me to a specific construction method.

I’m determined to get in the sewing room today for something more than ironing clothes. There are projects to finish and fabric to use.

This entry was posted in books, fabric collage, ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Quick Check In

  1. I know the feeling. Work can really put a dimmer switch on feeling creative at home. Hope this next week is much better on the work and the sewing front.

  2. dezertsuz says:

    If you want to make textile collages (something that can be a different way of thinking, but isn’t hard to actually DO), you might try sitting down at the sewing machine with a pile of scraps and sewing them together. Maybe with seams, or maybe just on top of each other. You might look at Debra’s work here and here and here. Some things that start as collages wind up being improv, too. Best of luck with your adventures!

Leave a Reply

