What If Wednesday – The Original Plan

I’ve been quilting the chunky churn dash runner and it’s going slow. I free motion quilt something every three or four month, and it isn’t enough to get very adept at it. I have heard people that teach and write about free motion quilting say repeatedly that you have to practice OFTEN.
I bought my wide bed machine with the intention of quilting everything on it and using my old machine to do all my piecing. Things didn’t start out well. It took me over a year to get the tension right for free motion quilting. It took a long time after that to warm up to that machine.
Now that I like it well enough, it’s time to get back to the original plan. What if I leave that machine set up for quilting and piece on my old machine? Will I finish more quilts? Will I get better at FMQ?
In addition to the runner, this quilt is ready for quilting.

poppy-quilt-top

As is this one.

buttterfly-quilt2

By the time I finish those, there will definitely be another one or two in the queue.
I had to go way back in the blog picture archives to find those photos.  I think it’s time.

This entry was posted in artquilts, freemotion, quilting, sewing machine, ufos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What If Wednesday – The Original Plan

  1. Denise Waterfield says:

    Your “ready to quilt” quilts are gorgeous!!

  2. dezertsuz says:

    Both beautiful quilts. The poppy one reminds me of two I quilted for a mother and daughter on my longarm – a very long time ago when I had one! Your colors on it are fabulous.

Leave a Reply

